As of October 2026, San Diego parents who can't drive have six main choices: HopSkipDrive, Kango, a sitter or nanny, free MTS transit for ages 6 to 18, a carpool app such as GoKid, or RideNest once it launches. Uber teen rides are not offered in San Diego, and Lyft's teen accounts have not been announced here.
This is the short version: one dated table with a source for every cell. For depth, read our full guide to kids transportation in San Diego.
The options side by side
Each cell repeats what the company or agency says on its own pages. "Not published" means we found no price. "Not stated" means the sources we read do not say.
| Option | Ages served | How you book | San Diego availability | Published price | Driver screening as the company states it | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HopSkipDrive | 6 and up, riding alone | Booked hours ahead, one-time or recurring | San Diego is on its list of areas served | Not published | A 15-point certification: caregiving experience, FBI and DOJ fingerprint checks, a yearly vehicle inspection, DMV and criminal record alerts | HopSkipDrive families page; HopSkipDrive blog |
| Kango | Any age; under 2 rides with a parent | Scheduled, one-time or ongoing; car seats if needed | Lists San Diego, about 20 miles around downtown | $20 to $24 minimum fare; fares vary by time and distance | Background-checked, fingerprinted drivers with 3 to 20 years of childcare experience | Kango home page; Kango FAQ |
| Uber (teen) | 13 to 17 | Teen account | Uber teen rides are not offered in San Diego; teen accounts get Uber Eats only | Not published | Not stated | Uber teens page |
| Lyft (teen) | 13 to 17, in select regions | On a parent's account, where Lyft allows it | Lyft's teen accounts have not been announced for San Diego | Not published | Not stated. Teen rides use PIN checks, real-time tracking and recordings | Lyft Teen help page; CNBC, Feb 9, 2026 |
| MTS Youth Opportunity Pass (free transit) | 6 through 18 ride free; 5 and under always ride free | No booking. Tap a Youth PRONTO card or app before every ride and carry ID | Pilot program through June 30, 2027 | Free | Not stated | San Diego MTS |
| Carpool apps (GoKid) | Not stated | App where school parents team up to drive each other's kids | Not stated | Free to parents when the school pays; schools pay about $10 per student a year | No paid drivers; parents drive | GoKid |
| A sitter or nanny | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | Not stated | No single company |
| RideNest | 8 to 18 | Booked ahead by parents; waitlist open now | San Diego, launching in 2026 | Not published yet | FBI and DOJ background screening, DMV review, drug and alcohol testing, TrustLine registration | RideNest safety page; RideNest FAQ |
A sitter or nanny is someone you hire, so terms, price and checks are whatever you agree with them.
How to choose
Start with your child's age, then your schedule, then your budget.
By your child's age
- Under 6. Kango takes any age, with a parent along for children under 2. So does a sitter or nanny. HopSkipDrive and the MTS youth pass start at 6, RideNest at 8, and Uber and Lyft teen products at 13.
- Ages 6 and 7. HopSkipDrive starts at 6 for kids riding alone. Kango also fits, and MTS transit is free from age 6.
- Ages 8 to 12. RideNest serves kids from 8, alongside HopSkipDrive and Kango.
- Ages 13 to 17. Uber and Lyft teen products are built for this age, but Uber teen rides are not offered in San Diego and Lyft's teen accounts have not been announced here. HopSkipDrive, Kango, RideNest (up to 18) and free transit all still apply.
Regular schedule or a one-off
- The same ride every week. HopSkipDrive sets up recurring rides, Kango takes ongoing requests, and RideNest is built for recurring weekly routes such as school pickup and practice. A GoKid carpool shares the driving with other school parents.
- A single trip. HopSkipDrive and Kango both book one-time trips. HopSkipDrive needs hours of notice.
By budget
- Free. MTS transit costs nothing for ages 6 through 18 through June 30, 2027. GoKid is free to parents when the school pays for it.
- A published fare. Kango is the only paid service here that publishes a figure: a $20 to $24 minimum fare.
- Priced per family. HopSkipDrive publishes no family price. RideNest has not published prices yet; it plans upfront pricing with no surge fees.
Where RideNest fits
RideNest is a prearranged ride service for kids 8 to 18 in San Diego. Its five safety layers are FBI and DOJ background-checked Nest Drivers, live GPS tracking, PIN-verified drop-offs, vehicles 5 years or newer, and $1M insurance on every ride. RideNest launches in San Diego in 2026, and the parent waitlist is open now. See the safety page.
FAQ
Can my teen take Uber alone in San Diego?
Not as of October 2026. Uber teen rides are not offered in San Diego. Uber's teen page says California teen rides run only in Los Angeles and San Francisco, and San Diego teen accounts get Uber Eats only.
Does Lyft offer teen rides in San Diego?
Lyft launched teen accounts for ages 13 to 17 on February 9, 2026, in select regions. Lyft's teen accounts have not been announced for San Diego.
What is the youngest age each service takes?
Kango takes any age, with a parent for children under 2. HopSkipDrive starts at 6, MTS free youth transit covers ages 6 through 18, RideNest serves ages 8 to 18, and Uber and Lyft teen products are for ages 13 to 17.
Is there a free way for kids to get around San Diego?
Yes. Kids ages 6 through 18 ride MTS transit free with a Youth PRONTO card or app, in a pilot that runs through June 30, 2027. They must carry ID and tap before every ride. GoKid carpools are free to parents when the school pays.
How much does RideNest cost?
RideNest has not published prices yet. It plans three ways to pay: Pay Per Ride, Route Pass and a Custom Family Plan, priced upfront by route and schedule, with no surge fees and no hidden fees.
Sources
All sources checked October 26, 2026.
- HopSkipDrive, families page and blog post of February 10, 2020
- Kango home page and Kango FAQ
- Uber, teens page; The Next Web, August 12, 2026
- Lyft Teen help page; Lyft Terms of Service; CNBC, February 9, 2026
- San Diego MTS, free transit for youth 18 and under
- GoKid, San Diego child transportation
- RideNest: safety, FAQ, pricing